Eight Days of Hell and an Unexpected Angel

Monday November 24th, 2014 I got up sometime after 10am. I’m worn out and sleep constantly.  I returned the call the surgeon. I though I was calling to set up a needle biopsy, No such luck. What I’m getting sounds as bad a jamming a ten penny nail in your eyeball. I wanted to vomit after this conversation. I get a wire stuck into leftie and guided into that terrorist that has set up shop in my breast. I’ve had a wire stuck in my foot and hand before. I want to faint thinking about having a wire jammed into my tata like I’m a shish kabob. No Gawd Honey. They will bend the wire and tape it down and send me down the hall for part two.

Needle Loc

This is an example image of the wire guided via mammogram

I will go to same day surgery and put on a hideous gown and get an IV.  I will them go to surgery and have the terrorist removed. The radiologists will confirm that the whole abnormality is out. If not the surgeon will cut some more out. Once it’s all out a clip will be put into the terrorist free area so that the mammogram will pick it up when I have follow ups every six months.  He will close me up and send the terrorist to pathology and I wait 3-5 days for the results.

ES4b-breast-620

Example of the surgical clip placed post removal

After everything was explained to me about the procedure I was booked for surgery on Friday December 5th,  I got off the phone and immediately lost my shit. I was prepared for a needle biopsy not this insanity.  Lucky for me the terrorist is way in there and he is going to be a bitch to get out.  I cried for five hours. I had to dry it up at 3pm because the kids were coming home. I went through the motions for the next seven days and acted like everything was fine.  Nobody said a word to me about it.  On day eight I went to the hospital and registered for my surgery.  I was fine during the whole thing. No problem.  I ran into an old teacher of mine that I always liked.  She saw the tears in my eyes as I came out. She reached out and took my hand and was so gentle and calming. We talked for a while about our issues until it was her turn to register, I am so grateful Mrs. Richardson was there for me.  I was calm and at peace. Some people possess such kindness and soothing souls. This lady is a fine example of one of those people.  I have three more days until the surgery. Three days seems like three years, I’m getting close to the end. I hope that next week will close a scary chapter. I don’t want this nightmare to continue. I’m tired and I need to rest,

0ebc183b7566adb05e61704953c98094

Keep in mind I’m not even 40 yet. I found Lump A and had a mammogram at age 33.

3 thoughts on “Eight Days of Hell and an Unexpected Angel

  1. I’m in awe of your courage and strength. You have inspired to get my own mammogram done. I booked yesterday, and have been scared and putting it off. There is cancer on my family tree, and I ow it to myself and my family to put my health first. Thank you for your bravery and your beautiful teacher angel for making me see the light. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. I understand that fear. The thing is that being proactive can be a blessing in disguise. Checking on my old benign lump that had grown and become bothersome led to finding something that was hiding deep inside. It can’t even be felt. Do your self exam monthly. You have to be your own advocate for breast cancer prevention. Self exams and persistance are key. You have to advocate for yourself and your family. If you feel like soething is wrong with you then it’s up to you to find somebody to help. Thank you again and I’m wishing you all the best. I am glad we have crossed paths. xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I agree proactive is my middle name for all things for my kids. Ive let myself slide, I do my self exam monthly. I’ve been vigilant about that. And now I’m starting to be my own health advocate as well as my childrens. Thank you for all yoir helpful advice, im happy our paths have crossed as well. 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

