The Tattered Wings of a Crow

I can count on the presence of my nemesis and guide during the times I feel the worst.  I can tell you it was exhilarating to have a crow come out of nowhere and brush the top of your head with his wing. I never imagined a crow would touch me much less be on the beach. Out of nowhere he came for me. He heard my cries and felt the sadness in my heart. He flew as fast as his tattered wings would carry him. He came over the ocean at a speed that reflected the urgency in my situation. I felt hopeless and broken. I turned to walk away and felt this great strength zoom overhead and felt the touch of his wing.  It felt like I was touch by a hand in the sky then I saw the beautiful creature turn his head and meet my gaze.

10440913_10200997248413525_8958020611868896771_n

This was my crow heading back over the ocean on a stormy Friday morning.

My life changed that final Friday in May. I was chosen by the crow and now they are everywhere and the bring warning when they come in a murder. The lone crow brings me hope and signs. The lone crow will appear when I need to know everything will be alright or to bring me a message. I know this all sounds a little hokey. I am very sceptical about things and not much into superstition. I would have called bullshit before May 30th, 2014. Now I watch for the signs and messages they bring. I knew I felt like a different person after my encounter. I researched the crow and what it meant to be touched by one. I was blown away by what I found. I knew I must take notice.

images (48)     The crow is a spirit animal associated with life mysteries and magic.  The power of this bird as a totem and spirit guide is to provide insight and means of supporting intentions. Sign of luck, it is also associated with the archetype of the trickster; be aware of deceiving appearances.  If the crow has chosen you as your spirit or totem animal, it supports you in developing the power of sight, transformation, and connection with life’s magic.  Crow is an omen of change. Crows live in the void and have no sense of time, therefore being able to see past, present and future simultaneously. They unite both the light and the dark, both the inner and the outer. Crow is the totem of the Great Spirit and must be held with utmost respect. They are representations of creation and spiritual strength.

1510734_10201909239372729_7762134300695844975_n

The crow visited me a few days ago. I heard him caw to me. I turned around to see him perched high atop a wire. He wanted me to open my eyes and see what he had in store for me.  I stood there and admired his beauty. He was black as night with beautiful blue accents. His wings were tattered from all the trips he makes from one plane to the next. He was flawed in a beautiful way. He had fought and braved the elements and it showed. He stretched his wings for me so I could see his worn feathers and the scars he carried, We stared for sometime before one final caw and he was gone.  Later that day I saw something I had missed. The crow pushed me in the right direction.  I’m not sure what will happen at this point. I do know one thing. I have been drawn to someone and even if the happiness was only meant to last a few days then so be it. I am happy I took the chance to get to know someone and appreciate them.  I could see what lies beneath and it was honest and pure.  My eyes are wide open now. When I go to sleep I can feel the tickle of the tattered wing on my finger tips. I hope the crow returns soon, I need another sign,

3497819706_63d14ffb81_z

Leave a Reply

