Welcome to “The Big Damn Easy”

Click click, I breathe out. Click click, My eyes are tightly closed. Click click, I journey back. The rumble of the train moves down the line. I am still. I hear the roar as the train rumbles down the line. The cars click as they pass over the section of old track. This is what home sounds like. I’ve not spent the night in my home town in years. It haunts me. My dreams drove me deep into my past that night. Two days later the ghosts still have me in their grips even though I’m damn near in Alabama now.

My hometown is a great place. The many beauties always made me happy. There’s lake, river and creeks for miles. In my early adulthood I was captivated by the lake. I’d go out early in the morning and ride my wave runner all day. I’d come home just before dark. I could always find my clarity out on Tim’s Ford Lake. My town was full of wooded areas and open fields. It was a sleepy little town. When I got older I started calling it The Big Damn Easy because well everything was easy. The days went by slowly. There was always a stillness in the air.  There is so much peace there even when there was none for me.

The train rolled trough several times a day. It was comforting to me. After a while you sleep through the train. When I moved to Nashville I found comfort in the sound of the train and the airport just up ahead. I slept through them. I can’t sleep anymore through the night. I don’t have my train to soothe me to sleep anymore.

The other night I was too exhausted to make the long drive home. I was anxious but decided to stay put. The ghosts were going to dance in my head all night. I guess it was time for them to haunt me and get it over with. I was almost asleep when I heard the whistle in the distance. The windows started to shake as the beast got closer. The whistle blew three times at the crossing then barreled down the track. My heart was beating out of my chest. I held my breath as the train screamed passed the house. Then came the clicking of the cars. The rhythm soothes me to sleep.

My mind comes alive with days from the past. All the people I ever loved sit up on Blueberry Hill. We laugh at the stories told. The fish fry is a wonderful time with endless food. The yard is perfectly cut and the grass is a deep green. The kids run around and play. The laughter is infectious. Papa plays the guitar and I hang on every cord. Everyone is home. It’s just like it used to be. Sickness and death do not live here. Tragedy is not welcome on Blueberry Hill. We play baseball in the field until you can’t see the ball anymore.

The train screams down the tracks ripping me from my reunion. I wipe the tears from my eyes. I do it with a smile because I know I won’t be away forever.

The train screams down the tracks ripping me from my reunion. I wipe the tears from my eyes. I do it with a smile because I know I won’t be away forever.

Leave a Reply

