Going Home, A Eulogy for My Best Friend

June, 19th 2009 my oldest son turned 7. It was bittersweet. My best friend lost her battle with Breast Cancer at the age of 32. She left behind a husband and two young daughters. I miss her everyday. I wrote a eulogy and poem that I read at her funeral. I stood there like a statue. I never cried. I spilled my heart and had a seat next to my other best friend. I don’t take pride in myself much. That day I was proud that I offered comfort to others with my words and feelings. These words were for Regina.

My Eulogy for Regina Clark Peacock

“Some are born great, Some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them.” -William Shakespeare

These are some of my favorite words that have ever been written. I stumbled across these yesterday and instantly their meaning became perfectly clear. I met Regina in high school and we became fast friends. It didn’t take long for me to figure out what an amazing person she was. Regina was considerate, kind and very nurturing. She kept me grounded as our personalities are total opposites. Her compassion for others made her stand out in a crowd.

Regina was a very spiritual person and I believe her positive attitude was a result of her faith. Her faith was never shaken during her illness as she remained strong until God called her home. I admire her determination and strong will. Regina never questioned her faith nor did she complain during her illness. I had the privilege of having the strongest woman I will ever know as my best friend. I shared in the joys and the pain and because of this I am a better person. Regina was born great and through her love and friendship greatness has been thrust upon me.

 Going Home   

The day has come to set me free

I leave you now with little pieces of me

 

My journey hasn’t ended its’ only begun

The battle is over my peace has been won

 

Know that I love you and I’m never far away

Forever in your heart is where I’ll stay

 

It pains me to leave all that I love behind

God has called me home let this ease your troubled mind

 

Remember me in the good times and not the bad

Think of my love please don’t be sad

 

There will come a day when again you see my face

I wait for you in Heaven ready to share this beautiful place

6/21/2009

2 thoughts on “Going Home, A Eulogy for My Best Friend

Leave a Reply

