Fate Asked Me to Dance

 

Today I’ve been shaken. I happened upon a man in distress. His coworkers and a store employee were helping him. I got out of the car and knew he was in trouble. I yelled at my kid to go inside and call an ambulance. 

I started CPR on him. I’d get him back for a moment or two then he’d leave me again. I didn’t give up. I kept working on him until Ems and first responders arrived. When they took over I started to cry. I never said a word. He died in my arms but I kept on with CPR. 

You never know when you will be faced with someone’s life hanging in the balance. Will you stand on the other side of the tape or hurdle it to help a dying man? I cleared that tape and did what I had to do. I have found out this man was a very good person. He was a well respected officer in his community. I’m only sorry I couldn’t save him. Fate asked me to dance. I never say no.

10 thoughts on “Fate Asked Me to Dance

  1. You did a wonderful thing, the world needs more people like you.You are amazing for even trying. So many people would not think twice, you did your best and I am sure in his last moments he was comforted by your attempts. thank you for trying.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are the kind soul and compassionate person that the world so desperately needs more of. What you did was beyond the ordinary, it was extraordinary, and so are you. Keep yourself in a good place for you did a GOOD thing. Love you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is a truly heartbreaking story. I think you are an amazing person to have done all you could to try to save his life. It’s people like you that keep my faith in humanity alive. I know his family and the community are mourning but this has got to be hard on you. I’ll keep all you in my thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I believe you are amazing and what you did was more than what other folks would have done. I’m sure I speak for everyone when I say, I am proud to call you my friend! Sending much love and prayers to you and his friends, family and community.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

