Another Goodbye

I never saw it coming

And really why should I? I was completely blind to the world around me. It was a wonderful feeling. Those few weeks I had with you. I felt alive. Mostly I felt happy. But it wouldn’t last. I was crushed when you dumped me.

First let me tell you about the happy part.

Once upon a lifetime ago we saw each other briefly. It didn’t work out for reasons that I understand. Sure I was sad about the way it worked out but I went on with my life. Sometimes you never get over it. You bury it until it comes back to haunt you. And haunt me it did. I came up with every excuse that I could possibly think of not to talk to you. I finally caved. I agreed to see you. I can’t put that part into words. It was good. I was happy.

Sometimes your baggage is too much for the other person.

There wasn’t a damn thing that I could do about it. You are gone and I am alone again. I don’t blame you even though it hurts. It’s been so hard trying to turn off the feelings. You flipped them off like a light switch. I’m still struggling. My world went silent and it’s hard to handle. We talked constantly. Now it’s nothing at all. I feel like I only make you mad if I do try to talk to you.

I feel empty and alone now that there are no more words spoken. How I miss the way you made me feel. It’s so hard to go from feeling on top of the world to nothing at all. I tell you that I miss you and you say nothing at all. You make it look so easy.

I was ready this time

There isn’t a moment that I don’t think of you. I have to chase you out of my mind and lock you out of my heart. It’s so hard to break a habit and you became one. I wish I’d done things different maybe you’d still be here.

One thing I do know is this I can’t take another goodbye from you. It hurts more every damn time.

Leave a comment